Topic: Main .htaccess Not Writable

Hi. I'm new to both Monstra and the world of coding.

There is a previous thread on the issue (i.e., http://forum.monstra.org/topic/33/insta … ng-mamp/), but I think that the instant problem might require a different solution.

I downloaded the Monstra .zip from the homepage, changed the UNIX Equivalent to '770' as specified in the documentation, and put the files onto the server.

However, I noticed that there was not a main .htaccess file. Several .htaccess files were wedged into the smaller sub-folders. I didn't touch them.

All of the checks during the installation process cleared except for the last one ("Main .htaccess not writable").

Should I ignore it, and install Monstra? Or, alternatively, how can I fix it?

Re: Main .htaccess Not Writable

http://monstra.org/documentation/installation

Monstra Loves You! Give some love back!

Yes, but I do not see a main .htaccess file in the original .zip file.

NewUser wrote:

Yes, but I do not see a main .htaccess file in the original .zip file.

http://i.minus.com/ibtdOAopjAP1m5.png

Monstra Loves You! Give some love back!

Thanks, Awilum. I figured out the problem.

On the default configuration of Mac OS X, the .htaccess file is not visible in the folder.

To all new Mac OSX users, any files that are hidden system files, including those like the ".htaccess" file that begin with a period ("."), are not viewable in Finder under normal viewing.  These files are hidden from the Finder user's view as most users should not modify or delete such files.

The problem will manifest when you try to copy the Monstra files from one directory folder to another.  Only the files that are visible will be copied.

To copy the .htaccess file over to your working directory, do the following:

1. Start a new instance of your terminal. This is stored in the /Applications/Utilities directory.